The absurdity of anti-vaccine arguments, from the POV of a mother of an autistic child

I’ve written a number of times about the unredeemable stupidity of the anti-vax cult (shameless plug: I recently had an article I wrote with a colleague on this subject approved for publication, further news in this space), but I have to admit never gave much thought to what it would mean for people with autism and their close ones what it would mean to be used as a scarecrow against vaccines.

That is, until I came across this brilliant and poignant piece: Stop Using My Children to Scare Parents Out of Vaccinating.

Just a small snippet, to give a general idea: “As an autism parent, it offends me that my children’s condition is being used to scare people away from life-saving medical treatments. I don’t want that to happen. It angers me there are people out there who truly think my children and others like them would be better off dead than just a little different. It’s what the anti-vaccine community has come to in many cases; a hatred of all things autism. I have seen parents like me try to plead how wonderful their children are and how they wouldn’t trade them for anything, only to be told they are foolish and crazy. I have also seen adult autistics make very reasoned and well-constructed arguments, only to either be completely ignored or called horrible names. I don’t understand how people become that filled with hate and paranoia, and I don’t think I ever will“.

There is a link in the text to a petition for the irresponsible deniers to stop using people with autism as an excuse to not vaccinate children. Go read the whole thing, sign the petition, fight the good cause.

One thought on “The absurdity of anti-vaccine arguments, from the POV of a mother of an autistic child

Leave a Reply

