Yom Hashoah

Lewenspil

CHILDREN OF ISRAEL

I weep for you, my grandfather’s grandfather

Whom I never met

For your pride as a descendent of Abraham

For your long white beard

That more than anything else, gave you away

The beard that you refused to shave

Even though you knew the nazis where coming

I weep for your resignation

For your heart, that gave up, seeing your daughter and your
granddaughters on their way to their deaths

I weep for you, my grandfather’s grandfather

And for so many more millions of Abrahams, Isaacs, Jacobs, Sarahs,
Ruths, Rachels

“There weren’t six million Jews in Europe”

For humanity’s sake, will this ever end…

(1980)

http://tinyurl.com/3n3fsvj

Leave a Reply

