Grandpa

Grandpere

I dreamed of my grandfather this night. I don’t quite know why – might be the fact that I was reading Crumb’s version of the Genesis the other day, and grandpa was Jewish, who knows.

 

I miss him a lot. He was an important reference and I have lots of fond memories of him. I was fortunate enough to have him around for a considerably long time – as I put on my Master’s thesis dedication, he was taken by the same year that brought my daughter.

 

I don’t recall the details, but it was a nice dream, he was old in it and I knew he wouldn’t last much longer, but I wanted to make him sure of how much I loved and looked up to him. At least in my dreaming, it worked out…

 

Je t’embrasse, pépé… Je manque ta présence.

Leave a Reply

